Margaret & The Golden Tuile Cookie

2016-05-24

Photographed by Margaret Zhang (Left) and Bernadette Mira (Right)

Today’s inspiration is none other than Margaret Zhang. The young and very multi talented photographer, stylist and model AND so many other things. I was first introduced to Margaret Zhang while I was perusing around the Internet for “Great fashion bloggers.” Her name immediately popped up. I checked out her site Shine By Three and spent the whole night being immersed in her work. It always amazes me how creative some people can be and how they cultivate that into a career. Margaret Zhang has left me asking the questions, “How do I get there?” “How do I create a career out of something I love?” and the answer I am left with, is to “Just do it!” That is what Margaret has done and I thank her for that inspiration and lighting a fire underneath me to pursue the things I love. Please do yourself a favor and visit her blog. You will most likely spend hours on it, so get a cup of coffee or tea ready and enjoy the talent that is Margaret Zhang.

Margaret’s lovely self-portrait, inspired me to add the colors of the Lindt Truffles  raspberry and caramel. They’re a perfect match to the dresses eye-catching pink and gold flowers. Along with the truffles, I added some homemade ice cream and then today’s recipe. The golden tuile cookie. Enjoy!

Golden Tuile Cookie

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Lacy Almond-Orange Cookie

Makes 6-8

Ingredients

1/4 cup of roasted almonds or blanched almonds

1/4 tsp. of nutmeg

1/4 tsp. of coriander

1/2 stick of butter

1/8 cup of sugar

1 1/2 tbsp. of honey

1/4 tsp. of sea salt

2 tbsp. of all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. of lemon zest

Topping:

Lindt Truffles-raspberry and caramel

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 F.

2. Prepare a cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

3. Prepare a small saucepan and set aside till ready to use.

4. In a food processor or blender, blend roasted almonds, nutmeg and coriander till coarsely ground.

5. Transfer mixture to small saucepan and add butter, honey, sugar and sea salt.

6. Bring the ingredients to a boil over medium to high heat. Stir a few times to combined the ingredients. Be sure to keep an eye on this. You’ll start seeing little bubbles start to form, that’s when you will know its ready. It should take about a minute.

7. Once you see it bubbling, remove the saucepan from the heat, stir in the flour and lemon zest.

8. Being sure to work quickly, add about a teaspoon of the mixture one at a time to the parchment paper. I found it easy to spread them out to look like circles, by spraying a spatula with some coconut oil and gently spreading them with that. You will need all the cookies to be at least 2 inches apart so they don’t stick together.

9. Once all the batter is used up, add the cookies to the oven and let them bake till golden. About 6-7 minutes.

10. Take the cookies out of the oven and let them cool for a few minutes either on the cookie pan or wire racks.

Enjoy with ice cream with drizzled chocolate on top!

2016-05-24 (1)

Photo by. Bernadette Mira

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 comments

    1. I know isn’t she so awesome?! I love her photography. Thank you so much!! I appreciate you stopping by and checking out my blog. Best to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

