Amazing Vegan Green Rice Balls

2016-05-29

Photos taken by: David and Jenny Mustard  (left) and Bernadette Mira (Right)

One of my favorite things to do is to find new, inspiring Youtubers and bloggers. The past six months I have been getting through a bulging disc in my back. Yes, it sounds terrible and I’m not going to lie, it is. I cannot stress enough, how important back/spine health is. So, take care of your backs’ people! I digress, through this trying time, I found happiness and comfort from one YouTube/blogger and that is Jenny Mustard.

I was immediately captivated by her soothing videos and way of life. Jenny is a minimalist/vegan who creates beautiful fashion and food dishes along with her lover David. I am thankful that I happened to come upon her YouTube channel one evening. I remember the evening all to well. I was laying in bed sobbing and suffering from the pain in my back. My loving boyfriend comforted me by giving me hugs and kisses. After an hour of letting out all my tears, I opened up my computer and went on to YouTube. Almost like magic, I came upon Jenny’s channel. A smile came across my face and my body began to feel at ease. I spent the next few days consuming all of her videos and was inspired to keep on going. Thank you Jenny and David for making me feel better during this difficult time.

On to the recipe. I automatically saw a rice ball and a type of green filling from looking at Jenny’s fashion photo. The pop of green reminded me of edamame and avocado. Then I thought pairing a spicy sauce alongside the rice balls would make this recipe complete. Enjoy!

 

Amazing Vegan Green Rice Balls

Makes 5 rice balls

Ingredients

1- 1/2 cups of sushi rice

to 2 cups of water

Filling:

1/2 cup of cooked edamame

1 half of one avocado

2 tbsp of finely chopped ginger

2 garlic cloves minced

juice from one lemon

1tbsp of red pepper flakes

pinch of black pepper

pinch of white pepper

1 tsp. of sea salt

Dipping sauce:

1tsp of Momokawa Diamond Sake (Watch The Birth of Saké on Netflix to see process)

2tsp of soy sauce

pinch of pepper

1-2 tsp. of hoisin sauce

1 garlic clove minced

2 tsp. of spicy chili seasoning or homemade chili sauce ( I found mine in Chinatown NY)

optional: black sesame seeds

Cook’s notes: Ice cold water and sea salt come in very handy. It’s a must for molding the rice balls by hand.

Directions:

1. Follow directions of sushi rice on container/bag.

2. While rice is cooking, prepare filling and dipping sauce.

3. In a food processor combine the filling ingredients together till it becomes a smooth paste. Set aside and cover.

4. In a small bowl add the sauce ingredients and whisk together till combined. Cover with plastic wrap and set aside in fridge to chill.

5. When rice is done and has set aside for ten minutes after cooking, gently lay out the rice on a cutting board and cool until it’s cool enough to handle.

6. While waiting, prepare a small bowl of ice-cold water and salt.

If making rice balls by hand watch this video (I ended up using a rice ball mold which I highly recommend for adding filling so it doesn’t squeeze onto the outside of the rice ball.)

7. If using a rice ball mold, add a little bit of rice at a time so it’s half full.

8. After adding half of the rice to the rice ball mold, wet your fingers with the ice-cold water and rub with salt. Gently thumb a small hole into the rice ball. (This is where the filling will go.)

9. Then put in 1-2 tbsp of the green filling into the rice mold.

10. Then add the other half of the rice to fill to the top.

11. The rice ball molder should come with directions, but the next step is to add the top to the rice ball mold and gently push down so the rice molds together. (I’m using the word “mold” way too much)

12. Take the top off and flip the rice ball molder facing downwards and push the rice balls out.

Enjoy these lovely Onigiri (rice balls) with the dipping sauce or by themselves.

 

2016-05-29 (1)

Photo by. Bernadette Mira

Leave a Reply

