Lemon Sake Quencher

lemon drink

Photography by. Unknown-TOPSHOP photoshoot(Left) and Bernadette Mira(Right)

Model: Cara Delevingne

This past weekend was hectic and made me think quite a bit about what I want for my life. Relieving the past and traumatic situations can always put me into the what I like to call my ‘quiet time’ where I spend countless hours talking to myself (which maybe isn’t exactly quiet time but it certainly is therapeutic.). I find it important to take those moments of quiet where we ask ourselves “What do I really want for my life?” or “Who are the type of people I want to be surrounded by?” I have so far concluded that I want a life of growth, to be surrounded by people who care and also desire growth. I’m still spending time figuring out the rest but I have a lifetime for that.

For today’s recipe, I once again wanted to keep it simple, because sometimes the simplest things can be the best. Enjoy this Lemon Sake drink while relaxing the evening away in a bubbly bath tub.

_DSC0060

Lemon Sake Quencher 🍋

Serves 1

Ingredients 

1/2 tsp. of sugar

 a pinch of black cracked pepper

1/3 cup of lemon juice (from two small-medium size lemons)

5 ginger pieces chopped up into big slices

1/4 tbsp. of good sake

1 ounce of tonic water 

lemon zest to top it off

Extra:

Small or medium sauce pan

Strainer

Ice cubes 

Grater

Directions:

  1. Boil on low to medium heat lemon juice, sugar, pepper and ginger slices together with lid on for 10-15 minutes.
  2. Once the lemon mixture has finished, drain in a strainer to catch the ginger slices and pour into an empty jar. Immediately put into the freezer to freeze for 10 minutes.
  3. Then take the lemon mixture out of the freezer and pour into desired cocktail glass.
  4. Combine sake and tonic water to the lemon mixture. Grate lemon zest to top it off.
  5. Enjoy with two ice cubes. Relax and take it easy.

_DSC0067

_DSC0058

Photos by. Bernadette Mira

Leave a Reply

