Iced Matcha Latte and Please no negativity

CD1F3CFB-FF44-4EF0-9862-EEFFA5B7E92E

Photography by. Bernadette Mira

 

I  guess I want to ask the generic question “How is everyone doing?” Yet, I think we all know the answer to that. This whole thing can be summed up over in America as being a shit show. I periodically find myself shaking my head that by the next day I wonder, “Why does my neck hurt so much?” Throughout most of this I have been trying to keep a positive mind. I workout, eat well, shower (Let’s be honest, there are probably some people out there who have access to a shower who aren’t using it on a regular basis because whose to see? Or smell?) Anyway, let me get to my point and then to the good stuff. If your here for the good stuff please feel free to skip through this bit.

I am exhausted by the negative information vomited out into the media. Instagram, YouTube, Facebook etc. are culprits of this. It has gotten to the point where I have had to mute people whom I would normally follow. Maybe I shouldn’t be a hypocrite because I’m currently writing about my feelings that may come off as negative. Yet, what bothers me is when information is posted for everyone to see when it’s intentions are to invoke fear. My thoughts about this is that it isn’t fair to the people who are trying to get by (not that everyone isn’t doing the same) I do want to keep in touch with what’s going on, but when negative information is thrown out there I have to ask the question, “Why is this person posting something like that?” Does it make people feel better when they do that? Do they feel like they’re doing some good service? I mainly don’t understand it and with how my brain works I want to find the answer as to “Why?” Even though it’s probably better not knowing.

Well, enough of that. Onto the good stuff. I have been experimenting with drinks and recipes while being quarantined. Not that this recipe is ground breaking, but it was really lovely to enjoy this latte while taking a moment to sit in the silence. The city has been quiet which if your from the city you know how rare that is. Yes, times are difficult and strange, but the silence is beautiful. Try and enjoy that if you can and please take care of yourself. You matter.

654D4478-E3BB-418C-BD19-ED6500FBF1CC

Iced Matcha Latte

Ingredients

2 tsp. of matcha powder

1-2 tbsp. of hot water

1/2-1 cup of oat milk or other plant based milk 

1-1 1/2 tsp. of simple syrup 

Simple syrup

1/2 cup of light brown sugar 

1/4 tsp. of ground cinnamon 

1/2 cup of water 

utensils needed: bamboo whisk, kettle, ice and a mug

 

Directions:

1. Make simple syrup. Can make the night before. Bring sugar, cinnamon and water to a boil in a small to medium sauce pan (whatever you have works.) Stir until the sugar dissolves and gently remove from heat. Let the simple syrup sit to cool off for at least 20 minutes or more. Once cooled, strain simple syrup into a heat proof jar. Cover and chill. Use this in coffee, teas and any other drink to add sweetness. Keeps up to two weeks.

2. Chill 1/2-1 cup of plant based milk in a glass cup with two large ice cubes and set aside in the fridge until ready to use. Then bring a kettle of water to a boil.

3. While waiting on the water to boil  prepare 2 tsp. of matcha powder in a heat proof glass or mug (make sure the opening of the mug is wide enough to whisk the matcha.)

4. Once the water has come to a boil, turn off the heat and set aside. Let the hot water rest for about five minutes.

5. Then gently pour 1-2 tbsp. of hot water over the matcha powder and stir with the bamboo whisk. Do not over stir. I stir for about 30 seconds or until the powder is dissolved.

6. After stirring, add the simple syrup and stir with a spoon (Do not use the bamboo whisk) Then either add the chilled plant based milk and stir again or add the matcha/simple syrup to the glass of milk and stir (This recipe apparently requires A LOT of stirring. I am kind of tired of using that word now.)

Then feel free to add a couple more ice cubes. I personally leave mine with only a couple or none at all, but please do what feels best for you.

Enjoy!

-B

 

Leave a comment